contact Details

P O Box 14-735


Wellington 6241


Social Media

MK Handbook and Rules

Motu Kairangi Netball - About Us


The objectives of Motu Kairangi are to:

  • foster and promote learning, enjoyment, fair play and positive sporting attitudes through playing netball in a seasonal competition for school children, from year 4 to 8, in the central, eastern and southern suburbs of Wellington;
  • foster and encourage umpiring, coaching and administration of netball;
  • recognise the achievement of all participants;
  • encourage coaches and parents to follow the Codes of Conduct as outlined in the Motu Kairangi Netball Handbook and Rules;
  • and to ensure that funds raised by the club are used to benefit the participants.

Motu Kairangi firmly believes that players of this age are developing their skills and attitudes towards the game and therefore expects all adults involved to provide positive and appropriate coaching and management of individuals and teams.  In the Motu Kairangi Netball Handbook and Rules there are Codes of Conduct for coaches, players, parents and spectators.  These codes give a minimum expectation of behaviour of these four groups of people.  Motu Kairangi expects the highest standards of behaviour to be used at all times.

The Motu Kairangi Netball Handbook and Rules has been developed to assist the smooth running of the netball season at Motu Kairangi.  It also offers guidelines to schools, coaches, managers, players and player's families on how Motu Kairangi is run and the standards of behaviour expected by Motu Kairangi Netball.



Motu Kairangi Netball Incorporated is an Incorporated Society and therefore its operations are guided by a constitution that has been registered with the Registrar of Incorporated Societies.

A copy of the constitution is available at the Control Room or upon request a photocopy can be provided for personal possession.

Each year at the Annual General Meeting a Chairperson, Secretary and Treasurer are elected.  A Management Committee is determined at the Delegates Meeting.

In addition to the elected Management Committee, sub-committees may be set up to have responsibility for various parts of the operations of Motu Kairangi.  These sub-committees report to the monthly meetings of the Management Committee. 

Every affiliated school must have at least one representative as a Managment Committee Office Holder, a Management Committee Member, a Sub-committee Member or in a Task Group role.

The Management Committee is responsible for running Motu Kairangi on a yearly basis and also for making the rules of the Association.  From time to time a situation might arise that is not covered by the printed rules or constitution.  The Management Committee reserves the right to deliberate on such matters and introduce new rules as and when required.

Motu Kairangi has an ongoing programme to improve facilities.  This involves various projects including:

  • Sale of drinks, sausages, chippies and confectionery each Saturday
  • Applications to various organisations who provide grants to sporting groups
  • Special fundraisers organised from time to time, e.g. Representative Teams

Motu Kairangi has a programme of ongoing development.  For example:

  • Promote the development of umpiring and coaching skills
  • Promote the development of player skills



The committee is made up of volunteers and representatives from within the 29 schools registered with Motu Kairangi.  The Saturday netball competition is only made possible by the hard work and dedication of these people.


Chairperson: Zoey Milne (Newtown School)

Treasurer: Jenny Smith (SWIS) and Fiona Gore (Brooklyn School)

Secretary: Maria Bertram (EBIS)

Court Control and School Duty Coordinator: Sunjna Harduth (St Marks Church School)

Grading, Game Draws and Game Results Coordinator: Marie Dacombe-Bird (Seatoun School)

Junior Netball Administrator: Jo Graham-Mika (Holy Cross)

Kiwi Whistler Coordinator: Pauline Ching (Clyde Quay School)

Rep Teams Coordinator: Melissa Burfield-Savali (St Annes) and Patsy Madar (St Annes)

Supplies Coordinators: Kilbirnie and Lyall Bay Schools

Training and Development Coordinator (Coaching and Umpiring): Sam Kenny (SWIS) and Jenny Smith (SWIS)

Website and Social Media Administrator: Kerrin Allott (WEGC)

Other Positions (but not on the MK Committee):

Prizegiving: St Francis de Sales School

Scorecards: Houghton Valley School

Supplies Collectors: Holy Cross and Roseneath Schools

NB: Schools that haven't volunteered to do a role will be asked to find people from their school to join the Junior Netball Committee



Postal address: Secretary, c/- P O Box 14-735, Kilbirnie, Wellington 6241



Facebook: Motu Kairangi Netball

Twitter: Motu Kairangi


Schools Registered with Motu Kairangi

The following schools are registered with Motu Kairangi:

Brooklyn School

Berhampore School

Clyde Quay School

Evans Bay Intermediate School

Hataitai School

Holy Cross School

Houghton Valley School

Island Bay School

Kilbirnie School

Kahurangi School

Lyall Bay School

Miramar Central School

Miramar Christian School

Miramar North School

Mt Cook School

Newtown School

Ridgway School

Roseneath School

Sacred Heart Thorndon School

Seatoun School

St Annes School

St Anthonys School

St Bernards School

St Francis de Sales School

St Marks Church School

St Patricks Primary School

South Wellington Intermediate School

Te Kura Kaupapa Maori o Nga Mokopuna

Worser Bay School